Supporting the Foundation

The Paul Harris Fellow recognition acknowledges individuals who contribute, or who have contributions made in their name, of $1,000 to The Rotary Foundation.

Rotary established the recognition in 1957 to encourage and show appreciation for substantial contributions to what was then the Foundation’s only program, Rotary Foundation Fellowships for Advanced Study, the precursor to Ambassadorial Scholarships.

The first Paul Harris Fellows included past RI Director Allison G. Brush, who served during the 1937-38 Rotary year, and longtime RI Treasurer Rufus F. Chapin, both for donations made in 1946. Mrs. Adan Vargas was the first woman to receive the recognition, for a gift made in 1953. Mrs. Harry L. Jones was the second, and one of only five people recognized for contributions actually made in that inaugural year.

The number of Paul Harris Fellows reached the 1 million mark in 2006, including the following from the Port Hope club.

Jan Boycott
George Harvey
Robert MacArthur
Bree Nixon
Hugh J. Parker
Cleveland Pendock
Dianne Pendock
Sylvia Binkley
Roldano DallaRosa
Susan E. Rafuse
Paul Tait
Benjamin R. Currelly
James S. Gilmer
Ron Tuttle
Bruce H. Coleman
John Angus Mowat
Cecil (Bud) Bernard Lynch
Kenneth L. O'Neill
Robert A. Wallace